TS/IS Journal 7

This chapter of They Say/ I Say covered the process of summarizing. So, (a bit ironically) I will do my best to summarize the key key concepts in this chapter as well as point our what I find interesting.

As a writer, you want to be able to summarize someone else’s work without being bias.  You have to put yourself “in someone else’s shoes,” as they say.  No matter how much you may disagree- this can’t show in your summary for it to be effective. You also don’t want to make it sound cliche and make a mistake in the author’s point of view.  For it to be effective, it has to be accurate.

You don’t want to ignore your view completely, though.  You want a summary to “fit in with your own agenda while still being true to the text you are summarizing (Graff 34)”.  You want to lead with the summary to transition into your point.  You want to match the amount of “I Say” with what “They say”.

I can personally say I strongly dislike summarizing.  Sometimes I do’t do it enough. Other times I feel like I list too much and then I’m not able to get my point in there without being repetitive.  There has to be a happy medium in there so it doesn’t get boring, either.

I wouldn’t have thought to summarize “satirically”.  It sounds like a sassy sort of reply to make a statement sound ridiculous.  That being said it could be effective in some cases.

Finally, word choice is very important.  No “he said” or “she believes”.  Different word choices sound more reliable and interesting.  Those are to key qualities you want in your writing, no matter what the topic.

How-to-Write-a-Press-Release-Summary-and-Why-It-Matters

Leave a Reply

